Real Life Un-Filtered Thoughts Of A Vegetarian

I have been a vegetarian my whole entire life. What? My whole entire life? That is just crazy! No, you know what’s crazy, constantly getting attitude and (pretty much) stupid questions from the general population about my eating habits. Now, I don’t mind the occasional, “oh you’re a vegetarian, what made you become one? What your favorite meal? What’s your favorite restaurant?” Those are genuine curiosity from people, and I love to answer those questions.

What I do not like is how people have SUCH a problem with the food people pick to eat. God damnit why does EVERYONE feel the need to poke their noses where they don’t belong. I sit quietly, eating my vegetarian burrito bowl when people who are eating with my for the first time are flabbergasted that I don’t eat dead animals.

Vegetarian+zombies_a7e40a_4197039

Get a steak! I don’t give a f*ck, most other vegetarians also do not give a shit whether you eat chicken nuggets or not. (If you know me well enough, you know that if I get drunk enough I’ll eat chicken nuggets, because I really don’t care). I used to tell people I was a vegetarian because of PETA and all that just to get people off my back from saying I just don’t like the taste of meat. I also didn’t eat pizza for 16 years and I don’t eat chocolate- oh my god so many heart attacks from people so UPSET over the things I don’t eat! But no one cares that I love ethnically diverse food (Chinese, Japanese, Thai, and Mexican) because those are sooooo mundane compared to meat.

Every time I eat with my Dad at a restaurant (love you Dad if you’re reading this) he also goes “hey look at this, you should try this, why don’t you like it”, because he eats pretty much anything and everything it’s been hard for him to grasp the idea that his daughter’s stomach isn’t made of steal and that sometimes the thought of eating mashed potatoes and their texture grosses me out. (Much like his dad, who we remember aggressively trying to get my mom to eat cantaloupes because he thought she didn’t like them).

To sum up my scrambled thoughts, ANYONE SHOULD BE ABLE TO EAT WHATEVER IT IS THEY WANT TO. (Except people… or weird shit like kitty litter).

enhanced-buzz-6968-1415071073-4

And I’ll end this with some real life questions/statements me vegetarian/vegan friends commonly get. Read and learn:

“But how can you not eat bacon?….. It’s like, so good”

“Eat some real food”  “How can you eat that” “That looks gross”

“Take this vitamin”
“You have an iron deficiency”
“How are you a vegetarian? I can’t resist a nice juicy steak”

“How do you get your protein?”
“What’s wrong with you?”
“So you just eat salad?”  Also I hate salad. But I eat other vegetables. People think that makes me a bad vegetarian.

“What’s the point of being a vegetarian?”
“You only get to eat boring food”

“Fish are animals too, why do you still eat them?”
“Oh so you’re not a real vegetarian because you still eat fish and eggs”  “Why not just be a vegan?”

“I could never be vegan, I just like (insert meat here) too much.”

“You don’t eat dairy, meat, or eggs? What DO you eat?!”

“But where do you get your protein?”

“So like you’ve never had a hamburger before?” Or “how can you live with not eating a hamburger?”

Let’s try this place oh never mind you don’t eat meat

*eats salad and laughs*

– Katelyn

Leave a Reply

